This I Believe

Some people think that because atheists don’t believe in deities, we don’t believe in anything.  This is simply not true.

I believe a lot of things.

I just do not happen to believe that an invisible entity whom some call god exists.

This is what I believe.

 

I believe in the Seven Principles of Unitarian Universalism,

  1. The inherent worth and dignity of every person;
  2. Justice, equity and compassion in human relations;
  3. Acceptance of one another and encouragement to spiritual growth in our congregations;
  4. A free and responsible search for truth and meaning;
  5. The right of conscience and the use of the democratic process within our congregations and in society at large;
  6. The goal of world community with peace, liberty, and justice for all;
  7. Respect for the interdependent web of all existence of which we are a part.

I believe that if every person on earth followed the above principles, the world would be a much better place.

I believe that I am both broken and whole, and so is everyone else.  We are all perfect and imperfect.

I believe in energy, and that although we cannot measure everything scientifically yet, it does not mean that these things are not there. (for the majority of things, however, I still require good, solid scholarly research to convince me. the crystal skulls in lake Titicaca? The so-called ‘Secret’?  Not so much.)

I believe that if every politician/world leader took a good, long smell of the top of a newborn baby’s head, we would have a much more peaceful world.

I believe that due to global warming and war, humanity will not survive more than another 200-300 years at most.  The earth will survive, but humans, or the majority of humanity, will not.

(The above is one of the main reasons why I do not plan on having children, and think that anyone who does is both exceptionally brave and a bit stupid.)

I believe that I am very, very lucky to live where and when I do.  I try to be thankful every single day for what I have, which is so much more than the majority of the world has.  I have all kinds of privileges that I will not and do not take for granted.

I believe that I will never stop learning or growing, and that nobody else does, either.

I believe that just because you are non or pre verbal, it does not mean you do not have anything to say.  I believe that I have learned some of life’s most important lessons from people who have never spoken a word to me.

I believe that the world puts too much emphasis on spoken English, although I acknowledge that my fluency in it enables me to navigate the world much more easily than some of my autistic brethren.

I believe that living my UU values sometimes means making hard choices.  It means choosing to not participate in things that would be fun in the short term, but in the long term would not be good for my or other’s emotional and spiritual well-being. For example, Cards Against Humanity, or any activity that perpetuates the oppression of minority groups and encourages people to make fun of people who cannot defend themselves.

I believe in doing good, not just in being good.  I believe that words mean very little without action to accompany it.

I believe that spending time in nature is as valid a way to worship as sitting in a church or mosque.  I believe that worship can take many, many forms; meditation, playing with babies, sitting on a beach, feeling the sunlight, listening to music.  Anything that makes us grateful for what we have and what the world has to offer is a form of worship.

I believe that all people have the right to choose what happens to their bodies, but that all too often, society and socio-economic status pressure people into making decisions that they regret later on.

I believe in abortion.  I believe that a fetus is not a child, and that taking care of the children currently on the earth is more important than a tiny bunch of cells.  I believe that abortion does more good than harm both for society and for individuals.

I believe that the Republican party in the United States is doing much, much more harm than good, and that they are putting the survival not only of our country, but of our entire species, at risk.

I believe in myself.  I believe that I can and do make good decisions for myself.

I believe that I make mistakes, and so does everyone else, and we are all entitled to forgiveness.

I believe that the death penalty and physican-assisted suicide are wrong.

I believe in being nice, in trying my best, and getting enough sleep.

I believe that I am doing the very best I can, and so are most people in the world, and this is all that we can every ask of them.

I believe that my religion, politics and values are all one and the same.  I cannot separate one from the other because they all echo each other so much.

That being said, I do believe in things which have nothing to do with my religion, politics or values, such as……

I believe that dogs are better than cats.

I believe that my roommates are a bit cracked because they do not like pumpkin flavored anything.  I believe that pumpkin and pumpkin spice are two different things.

I believe that pumpkin is a fun word to say.

I believe that the West Wing, Doctor Who, and Firefly are the greatest television shows ever created.

I believe that the book is in 99.99% of cases better than the movie, and I don’t have the attention span for the movie, anyway.

 

 

I believe in singing.

I believe in hugging.

I believe in love.

I believe that there is nothing wrong with me.

One thought on “This I Believe

Leave a Reply

